Gear Review

This last Sunday evening my two younger brothers and I camped out for the night. Temperatures dropped to the lower 20’s, so I was once again thankful of my two latest (and now indispensable) additions to my accumulation of outdoor gear. So as my contribution to boosting the economy I offer the following reviews/advertisements.

UnderArmour Cold Gear

Granted some of UnderArmour’s gear is all overpriced hype. This stuff isn’t. A combination of the mock tee and leggings makes any cold outdoor activity much more enjoyable. With its moisture wicking technology this base layer allows you to arrive at your stand perfectly warm yet perfectly dry for a day of hunting. I also wore it while snowboarding this winter and spent the entire day cruising the slopes in mid-teen temperatures without ever visiting the lodge just to warm up. Whatever the cold-weather activity UnderArmour cold gear will allow you to do it in comfort and style. I guess people won’t see it if it’s worn as a base layer (a.k.a. underwear), so forget the style part. Overall I’d give it a 5-star rating. However, I wouldn’t recommend it if you’re claustrophobic…get the non-compression fitting gear if this is the case.

Trekker Mummy Sleeping Bag

I received the -20 degree model for my birthday a few years ago. Since we’re not exactly in an Arctic climate (although I wonder at times), the -20 degree model might be a bit of an overkill. However, I’d rather be too warm than too cold any day. Yesterday morning I woke up with a skiff of frost on the bag, yet inside I stayed deliciously warm. I’ve never tried the bag in subzero temperatures although I’m guessing it’s rated for survival, not necessarily for comfort. Regardless, I haven’t had any disappointments with it yet. Having said that though, I give it a 4 1/2 of 5 rating. The revocation of half a star happens because of its portability, or rather the lack thereof. This has not affected me personally since I seldom hike. However, if minimizing size and weight is priority, this bag probably isn’t for you. Also if you’re claustrophobic, like I mentioned before, you should probably check out their rectangular models.

Before I wrap up, I’d like to give a shout out to any UnderArmour or Cabela’s execs who might be reading this. If sales jump dramatically after this publication feel free to drop me a comment and I’ll e-mail my mailing address to you. I accept either cash or personal check. 

***********************************************

Strange but true: Today I ate an entire bowl of Campbell’s tomato soup for lunch. And get this–I actually enjoyed it. Don’t let anybody ever tell you that miracles don’t still happen. 

This entry was posted in Personal. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Gear Review

  1. pjn says:

    go ua gear

Leave a Reply

