Truth is…

…is stranger than it used to be. Also less complicated.

I’m still hung up on truth and the knowledge thereof, so here’s my rant. I know that we Christians overdid it in our response to modernism. On the other hand, I’m not comfortable with chucking the whole search and neatly flopping into the relativistic ditch. So here’s where I’m at…I think. Objective, immutable truth exists. This truth, however, is not some static platform on which we can build our cute little houses and hide from difficult realities. Our goal in knowing truth is not so that we can dig in our heels, pound out volumes upon volumes of doctrine and position papers, and avoid further questioning. Rather, truth is a living, dynamic person. Namely, Jesus Christ. Knowing anything comes through knowing him. Truth, therefore, is relational. Relationship with Christ and relationship with his people. 

Thomas said to him, “Lord, we do not know where you are going. How can we know the way?” Jesus said to him, “I am the way, and the truth, and the life. No one comes to the Father except through me. If you had known me, you would have known my Father also. From now on you do know him and have seen him.”

John 14:5-7 (ESV)

I know this position is incomplete and rather undeveloped…I welcome feedback from both sides of the issue. In case you wonder, I still value reason, logic, and empirical science. I’m just not sure how it all fits. That’s all part of the joy in the journey. 

The following words from a King’s Singers song sum up my current experiences with God…particularly the sequence.

…first to know thee, then to serve thee, then see thee as thou art.

From “In the Secret of Thy Presence”

********************************************

Strange but true: River otters live in Guys Mills. I know because I saw one on my way to school last week. It crossed the road in front of me. How’s that for proof?

This entry was posted in Personal, Religion/Philosophy. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Truth is…

  1. jlapp says:

    i’ve also seen beavers and mink.

    that is true.

Leave a Reply

