Favorite Poetry–serious and non

“The World Is Too Much with Us; Late and Soon”

The world is too much with us; late and soon, 

Getting and spending, we lay waste our powers:

Little we see in Nature that is ours;

We have given our hearts away, a sordid boon!

The Sea that bares her bosom to the moon;

The winds that will be howling at all hours,

And are up-gathered now like sleeping flowers;

For this, for everything, we are out of tune;

It moves us not.–Great God! I’d rather be

A Pagan suckled in a creed outworn;

So might I, standing on this pleasant lea, 

Have glimpses that would make me less forlorn;

Have sight of Proteus rising from the sea;

Or hear old Triton blow his wreathed horn.

William Wordsworth

I memorized this poem in a high school lit class, and it quickly became a favorite of mine. Reminds me of the Calvin and Hobbes comic when, while gazing at a star-filled night sky, Hobbes wonders why people think they are “such a huge freakin deal”. 

********************

“The Purple Cow” 

I never saw a Purple Cow,

I never hope to see one;

But I can tell you, anyhow,

I’d rather see than be one.

Gelett Burgess

Cinq Ans Apres”

Ah, yes! I wrote the “Purple Cow”–

I’m sorry, now, I wrote it!

But I can tell you, anyhow,

I’ll kill you if you quote it!

Gelett Burgess

I recently came across these two poems in one of my books, and immediately ranked them as favorites. Of course for different reasons than Wordsworth’s poem. I also enjoy “nonsense” verses by Ogden Nash and Jack Prelutsky

********************

Personal News Bulletin: First of all I apologize for the unoriginality of this post. Let me explain. I spent all of yesterday afternoon at the Cabela’s store in Wheeling, WV with my two younger brothers and Patrick and Kipp Mullet. I refrained from purchasing anything except for a few rounds at the laser shooting gallery. But it was fun–camo, ammo, and things that go blammo. A guy thing. Then last evening three of my cousins from KY paid us a surprise visit. That of course meant partying late into the night (or morning) and a bunch of local uncles, aunts, cousins, brothers, and sisters for Sunday dinner. What with the cold weather and all it almost felt like a Thanksgiving bash. So there’s my excuse–not an apology. I love people.

This entry was posted in Literature/Books. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Favorite Poetry–serious and non

  1. Tonia says:

    Just recently I was flipping through a book and came across “The Purple Cow.” I guess some people just have more imagination than others. 🙂

Leave a Reply

