The Call of the Wild

Lately whenever I look at a world map or globe, I experience a sudden, nearly irresistible urge to log onto Expedia, buy a ticket to anywhere outside the United States, pack a bag, and spend two or three years traveling the world. Anywhere, whenever. I want to meet other people. Experience their cultures. Breathe their air. Hear their stories. So far though I only gaze wistfully at airport signs announcing international departures. World maps and globes only remind me of the places that I have yet to see.

I believe that at some point the heart of every male human being longs for the adventure of a nomadic life. To leave family, friends, and a steady income and spend some time roughing it. To live out of a bag, sleep under the stars, and even hitchhike if necessary. To see, feel, and taste the lives of those living on the other side of the planet. Fortunately, my family loves traveling, thus, I have seen a lot of the United States and two different parts of Mexico (Baja and Yucatan areas). However, even that feels very miniscule in comparison to the rest of the world.

Sometimes I wonder why I am pursuing a career in the relatively sedentary field of education. Perhaps I’ll end up as a traveling English teacher to the remotest regions of Tanzania, the Amazon, or Mongolia. More likely though, I’ll end up homeless, jobless, and broke with nothing better to do than live a life of vagrancy. That doesn’t sound all bad. Even more likely than that though I’ll land a good teaching job, spend the rest of my life in one state, and satisfy my globetrotter yearnings with Google Earth. Perish the latter thought.

I probably have a more-glorious-than-reality idea about the nomadic lifestyle, but I would still love to see for myself. And I will. Sometime, somehow, somewhere. Of course, as the good Lord wills. 

Listed below are a few links to books and blogs that contribute to my restless tendencies.

1. www.amtrekker.com

2. www.hansmast.com

3. Travels With Charley in Search of America by John Steinbeck

4. Dispatches from the Edge by Anderson Cooper

****************************************************

Personal News Bulletin: Friday evening I flew to Reading, PA with my dad to bring home my sister who spent the last two weeks at Open Gate. I would very much have liked to attend again, but unfortunately more pressing plans kept me at home. We had a nice flight down and back, and it was great to the city and a few friends again.

Au revoir, folks.


This entry was posted in Personal. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Call of the Wild

  1. Tonia says:

    Your updates always make me either think hard or sit back and enjoy your interesting writing, but this one made me laugh. 🙂 My uncle, Paul Vernon, is hiking the Appalachian Trail, and says it’s really tough so I don’t recommend hiking around the world. You can read his blog at http://www.trailjournals.com/apostle

  2. Hans Mast says:

    Thanks for the link!

    FYI, someone nicked your post: http://cumulatelove.com/13155

    I’d send a spam complaint to Google to have them delisted and look around to see if you can figure out how to report the stolen content.

Leave a Reply

